Warrant Officer (WO) Mark Jones Joint Counter Explosive Threat Task Force

Warrant Officer (WO) Mark Jones was born in Orillia, ON.  His 27-year career has seen him as an infantry section commander in the Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment, an armoured reconnaissance crewman in the Royal Canadian Dragoons, an Aviation Systems Technician and presently an Air Weapons Systems Technician specializing in Explosives Ordnance Disposal within the Royal Canadian Air Force. 

He has served on many overseas training exercises in Germany, USA, England, Philippines and Mongolia. WO Jones has conducted operations in Somalia (1993), Former Republic of Yugoslavia Bosnia (1994-95), Sicily (2004), Afghanistan (2008-09) and Solomon Islands (2013). 

While in Afghanistan, WO Jones was employed as an IED Disposal Team leader.  His team was the target of a catastrophic IED event, killing three and severally severely injuring the remainder of the crew. All have since returned to full duties although they still suffer the long term effects of the incident.

 Today WO Jones works at the Joint Counter Explosive Threat Task Force where his skills and experience are focused to develop new IED Operators in the CAF and with our allies and partners as part of Government of Canada’s Global Capacity Building Initiatives.

Keynote and Featured Speakers

The Honorable Seamus O'Regan

Minister of Veterans Affairs & Associate Minister of National Defence

Major-General W.D. Eyre

Deputy Commander, Military Personnel Command

Lieutenant-General (ret) The Honorable Roméo Dallaire

Founder, The Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative

Air Commodore Rich Withnall

Medical Director, UK Defence Medical Services

Warrant Officer (WO) Mark Jones

Joint Counter Explosive Threat Task Force

Dr. Mark A. Williamson

Director General of Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science

Dr. Christian Kastrup

Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia and 2016 Banting Award Winner

John W. Boerstler

Executive Director, NextOp and a Marshall Fellow